Check out the new features in the latest version of iOS. There are new settings and options to master

Have you upgraded your iPhone or iPad to iOS 10.3 yet? You should do because it fixes a long list of bugs and security flaws, and it also adds some new features. Here’s what you need to know.

iOS 10.3 was released to the public at the end of March 2017 and it contains a number of new features. A lot of them are in an app you probably don’t use that often, but it is one of the most important on the iPhone and iPad.

The app with the most updates is Settings.

The old Settings app has been updated and it now has some brand new features that you might miss with a casual glance. Let’s take a closer look at some of them.

How to update iOS

If you wait long enough you might see a notification on the screen about an update to iOS, but why wait for it? Go and get it now!

Go to Settings and press General. Press Software Update and iOS checks for a newer version than the one currently installed. If there is an update you can then download it and install it.

Update iOS on the iPhone and iPad

Some reports say that the update takes a long time, such as 50 minutes or more. However, my iPhone and iPad, which are not the latest or the most powerful, took only 15 minutes. Maybe a bit longer, but not much.

iOS privacy and analytics settings

When the iPhone or iPad restarts with the new version of iOS you are asked whether you would like to share analytics and usage data with Apple. Your device usage and iCloud usage will be sent if you do.

It is not compulsory and it will not affect how your device works if you say no. Apple says that the data sent is not associated with you or your account, so basically it is anonymous data if that makes you feel better.

Whether you allow this usage data sharing or block it, what if you change your mind later, after some thought? The good news is that you can enable or disable sharing of usage data at any time.

Go to Settings and press Privacy. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and press Analytics.

There are five slider switches that enable you to determine what is shared.

 iOS 10.3 privacy settings on the iPhone Ad tracking settings on the iPhone in iOS 10.3

You can share iPhone analytics with Apple using the switch at the top. Below is an option to share analytics with app developers. You might be OK with sharing data with Apple, but not third party developers. It’s your choice.

There is a switch to enable or disable iCloud analytics sharing, and below this is a switch to allow or block the sharing of your health and fitness data. It is up to you how much you share and it is OK to block it all if you want to.

Limit advertising tracking in iOS

Return to Settings > Privacy and right down at the bottom is Advertising. There is an option to Limit Ad tracking.

If you don’t limit ad tracking, you can press View Ad Information to see the information Apple has on you. It won’t work if the Limit Ad Tracking switch is on and it takes at least 24 hours to build up data.

All your personal information in one place

Right at the top of Settings is a link to show everything Apple knows about you. It provides an easy way to access to all the information and settings in your Apple account.

Name, Phone Numbers, Email: Edit the email addresses associated with your Apple account. Choose whether to get announcements, music and new app recommendations and news updates.

Password & Security: Shows whether two-factor authentication is turned on and it allows you to edit the phone numbers used with it.

Payment & Shipping: Show and edit your payment details, such as your credit card. Update the shipping address (usually your home) used when you purchase physical products from Apple.

 All your Apple account details in iOS 10.3 on the iPhone View your iCloud space usage on the iPhone in iOS 10.3

iCloud: Tap this and it shows your iCloud usage as a bar, with usage types in different colours. Every app that uses iCloud is listed and switches can be used to allow or block usage. Press the bar to View your storage plan, see the space remaining and to change the plan (upgrade or downgrade).

iTunes & App Store: This has options for automatic music, apps, books and updates downloads. Also whether to allow automatic downloads using mobile data. It is basically asking whether you want to sync downloads from another device, such as an iPad. You might want to sync music, but not apps for example.

Free up space on your iPhone and iPad

If you check the free space on the iPhone or iPad before and after upgrading to iOS 10.3, you will find that there is more available afterwards. In fact, several gigabytes of extra space is made available.

Go to Settings and press General, then tap Storage & iCloud Usage to see how much space you have.

The extra free space could simply be because iOS cleared various caches, removed temporary files or moved photos to iCloud. It could be just a storage cleanup.

However, some people think it might be because the new filing system that comes with the latest iOS is more efficient. The new filing system is called APFS (Apple Filing System) and Apple says it is much better with modern apps and solid state storage.

If the free space gradually falls back to the original figure over the next week or two, it means that the caches are refilling. If the extra free space remains, it means that the new filing system is more efficient than the old one.

 

Add comment


Security code
Refresh